• Experienced Car Accident Lawyers
  • 8000 Towers Crescent Drive 13th Floor; Vienna, VA 22182

RideShare (Uber/Lyft) Accident Lawsuits

Virginia RideShare (Uber/Lyft) Accident Lawyer

Serving Fairfax County and Northern Virginia

If you were a passenger who was injured in an Uber or Lyft rideshare auto accident, you may be entitled under Virginia law to collect substantial financial compensation (up to $1,000,000).

The amount of monetary compensation a rideshare accident victim can collect depends not only upon his or her sustained injuries, but also upon the circumstances of the accident.

In such cases, it is imperative that insurance companies are held to paying out the maximum allowable amount of money by an experienced Virginia rideshare accident lawyer.

Where Do I Start?

Good question. Below we’ll discuss what to do AND what not to do.

Can I Get Compensated?

If you’ve sustained injuries the quick answer is very likely, but the real question is “how much.”

I've Been Injured in a Rideshare Car Accident- Now What?

By now you have already likely been through the accident and are seeking legal assistance. Hopefully the police came to the scene, documented the evidence and created an incident report, and, you have reported the incident to Uber or Lyft customer service.

If you have sought and received medical treatment, keep all documentation. If you have not, now is the right time to contact an attorney who will guide you through the process. At this stage you should refrain from speaking to insurance companies until you have consulted with your attorney.

After a Car Accident

No matter what, call the police so that they can document the accident and complete an incident form, and, report the incident to Uber or Lyft customer service.

If you’ve been injured and intend to pursue a personal injury claim, a medical diagnosis of the damage is required.

Just like any other evidence-based case, it is always best to speak only to an attorney in order to prevent jeopardizing your success. You can make admissions which you consider harmless that may prevent you from collecting for your injuries.

When the outcome of your case will be life-changing, it is imperative to follow the guidance of an experienced rideshare accident attorney.

Liability in Virginia Uber/Lyft Car Accident Cases - Whose Insurance Is Responsible?

Liability refers to who is legally at fault for causing the accident as a result of negligence. There are three basic scenarios:

1 the Uber or Lyft driver was at fault,

2 the other driver was at fault and is adequality insured, and

3 the other driver is at fault and is not insured, or is underinsured.

If the rideshare driver is deemed responsible for the accident, both Uber and Lyft carry $1 million in insurance coverage to cover the personal injuries of anyone who is hurt as a result of the driver’s negligence.

If the rideshare driver is deemed not responsible for the accident, the other driver’s insurance company will be used as the first tier of insurance to cover your personal injuries.

If the other driver is at-fault but does not carry insurance or is underinsured, the rideshare companies’ uninsured/underinsured (“UM”) coverage kicks in to protect you and your passengers.

Receiving Financial Compensation for Your Injuries

In car accident cases, injuries and losses are called “damages,” which can be recovered via a jury verdict or a settlement. In Virginia, an accident victim can recover damages related to four general categories:

  1. Medical expenses,
  2. Property damages
  3. Value of time missed from work, and
  4. “Pain and suffering”

Determining medical, property and employment damages can be relatively straightforward using receipts and documentation. Determining the monetary equivalent for “pain and suffering,” also known as intangible losses, is a much more complex and challenging undertaking.

Even if all “economic” damages were recouped, the accident victim is still faced with “non-economic” losses, i.e., the impact that the accident and injuries had on his or her life, past, present and future. Creating justification for the financial equivalent of these losses is an integral part of the case, and once again should be undertaken by an experienced rideshare accident personal injury attorney.

Contact Paragon Law Firm to Learn How We Can Help You

There are time limitations on your right to file a car accident injury lawsuit

These limitations are called “statutes of limitations,” and if they are met the claimant/victim  would be solely responsible for any medical bills, lost wages, and future medical expenses that result from the accident.

Please call us today at 703-847-3670 or email us for a FREE and CONFIDENTIAL consultation where you will learn:

  • if you are eligible for financial compensation,
  • an estimate of your potential financial recovery, and
  • how long you have to file your claim
Attorney Arash Zarei
Arash Zarei

Arash Zarei, Esquire

Virginia Personal Injury Attorney